I guess it's normal for a business to try and salvage what little they have left to their name. If your business is doing poorly due to dishonest business practices (non-disclosure to additional fees, lack of a publicized fee structure, inaccurate taxation charges, ambiguity of services inclusive of a quoted price), giving yourself a 5-star rating will not accurately reflect your actual service level.
The haircut received wasn't to my specifications, the wait was 1.5 hrs with an appointment, the mani-pedi was incomplete. I wouldn't have given Ruffles such a low rating if they were honest about their mistakes. The staff really didn't seem to care if they provided their customers with below-par services (contradictory to the previous management statements posing as a 5-star apology). The staff were talking amongst themselves, customers left angry, disputes between customers and staff, and the inefficiency of staff members (excess staff not tending to waiting partons).
Ruffles was so kind to our program which services people who struggle with mental health, and live on a fixed income. Idda opened her shop on the Monday morning April 23rd and cut our ladies hair for free. The ladies were so happy and looked amazing... Thank you for all your support! Chantalle
Very unprofessional staff, terrible haircut, charged $45 extra after I bought a $29 voucher. Extremely unpleased with the whole experience. Guys from Ruffles, you need to change your ways if you want customers WHO WILL COME BACK!!!!!!!!!! Otherwise, you will just get one-time customers, and a very bad reputation (as you already have, actually...) I am sorry I have waisted my money, and will NEVER come back again. Customers, RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNNNN!!!!!!!!! Just RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!! :(
I came in feeling down and very frumpy and left feeling revitalized and pretty. Both stylists Vida and Ida were nice and professional. They were quite knowledgable about colours and cuts. I too used a coupon and did not even worry about the mani and pedi as I was most concerned about my limp hair (before). After the cut and colour, my hair looked vibrant. Re: Taxes... I was not too concerned as I figured the taxes are put on the original cost, not the $29.00. Folks.. this is not Top Cuts (which by the way charge almost $40 for a cut) so just enjoy the luxury and expertise. Re: Foul language encountered (in other reviews)- I heard none of this. The salon was quiet and everyone was cool and calm
When I arrived at Ruffles on Sunday Feb 24, 2013 11am the hydro was out because the city was doing work at the street. The owner was there alone and the place was empty. She's was a very nice lady that said she stayed open for my appointment. They had a generator running so she said we could go ahead with my appointment despite the hydro issue. I am disabled in a wheelchair so I asked her to do my son first so he could go out to breakfast with my husband while they waited for me. She even recommended a place down the street for them. My son was so happy with his hair cut when it was done. She did a great job. For me she did the works, cut, colour, streaks and style. She was very patient with me, never making me feel hurried with my disability. I really liked the way she did my hair and more importantly my husband really thought it was great since he decided on the colour. Just as she was finishing me, more people had finally started to arrive and hydro was coming back on. What an unexpected pleasure to have the salon all to myself with a wonderful stylist. The only thing that was inconvenient was I had to pay cash as all the machines were down due to the power failure but this was not their fault. I would recommend this place to any age or sex. Thanks Ruffles for a splendid Sunday morning. P.S. Price was good too!
I bought 2 coupon from Dealfind for Ruffles. $29 for a bunch of services. So I went with my friend before a wedding we had to go to. I will start off by saying that I loved my hair and I have no complaints in regards to my hair, but my friend is a different story. One of the things that was included were partial highlights. So the stylist told her he would have to charge her extra for full highlights, which she was ok with, but... She has chocolate brown hair. He told her he was going to put light brown low lights. Well... I think I about died when they were pulling her foils out and I saw that she had bleach blonde streaks in her hair. When she mentioned it, he said that's what their light brown was. Ummmm ok?! Anyways, she wanted him to fix it, so in the end her hair turned out fabulous, BUT, #1, we had to be at wedding by 4:30 and still needed to go to sep homes to get dressed and there was a snow storm. I'm sure I must've told him 10 times that we had to be out of there by 2, we still didn't get out of there until 3. #2, when my friend went to pay he said she owed $75, we were in such a rush that we didn't argue with him plus she gave him a tip, so all together we paid an $125 btwn us for services that were supposed to be included in the coupon. Even though he messed up her hair. Now lets talk about the mani pedi that were included. We told quite a few times that I just wanted a pedi but my friend wanted both, so the lady gave her a mani but when asked about the pedi the lady said u didn't want one when she insisted that she did, the manager yelled at her and told her that there wasn't any time. Really?! When started getting my pedi, the woman doing it was about as pleasant as a boil (thats the way the main stylist described her, true but not very professional) it was the worst pedi of my life! She did an awful job! None of the tools were sterilized! It was nasty, never mind the fact that she picked her nose while doing my pedi, both rude and discussting! Plus we had our feet in a bag lined tub of water, the water was cold. So so bad! As well I watched the manager literally tell off a customer that had one of the same coupons we had. Not sure about what exactly, but so unprofessional. The main stylist was also VERY unprofessional, swearing none stop and I'm sure he was on some kind of an upper! The brushes were full of other people's hair, the fuse kept blowing when too many people were using their blow dryers at the same time. It feels like I could go on forever! Lol! Bottom line... In the end we were both happy with our hair, but to get to that point was a painful process that wasn't worth the money! I and I'm sure my friend, will NEVER make the mistake of going there again and I will now go by, when something seems too good to be true, it usually is!!! AND I would give 0 stars but they make you put in something.
I am a voucher user and I was there 3 times. My hair is long to the shoulders and for this thing I paid different extra charge ( first time I paid $25, second time I paid $20 and third time I paid $30). They are not consequent with extra charges. Can you imagine if my hair was down to lower back how much should I pay???? More than that when the owner applied the tax, the tax was $15 or $20. So, she didn’t actually apply 13% to the voucher value and to the additional charge. And when I asked her how she calculated the tax she got very angry and she said “This is the tax here in this salon. If you don’t like don’t come again “. They didn’t provide receipts to me . To be honest I feel that they give vouchers to public only to bring people in their salon and after the service is provided they actually receive the full or almost full amount of that service. I called them before making any appointment and ask how much is the extra charge for the long hair and how long should be the hair to be considered long and they said they don’t provide information through phone. I am leaving far East of Scarborough and the salon is on Bathurst close to Steeles.So , this was such a big surprise . It is true, they give you a free coffee but they don’t drink that kind of coffee. All of them have a McDonald coffee in front of them. Why? I don’t know … Antonio and Ernie did a good job but what I don’t like here is: YOU CANNOT HAVE CONTROL OF THE COST. You should come prepare to end up much more than you expected. This is the reason that I DO NOT RECOMMEND this salon.
On behalf of Ruffles Hair Design, we accept all individuals regardless of their appearance, ethnicity, race, or sexual orientation. Our number one goal is to make a customer feel happy with their experience at our salon. We have sustained many clients for a number of years now because they are content with our services. For those of you who have had an unsatisfying experience for whatever reason, we would like to inform you that it is not our intention to have caused this. We apologize for any inconveniences.
We accept all individuals regardless of how a person looks. We do however are not appreciative of the disrespectful comments. We have sustained many clientele for many years now and they have nothing but respect and fondness for our staff, environment and the work that we do. Whomever was displeased by anything in our salon we apologize and it was not our intention to cause this. New clients are welcomed at all times. Once again, any previous negative experiences have clearly been misunderstandings.
Don't beleive the emails you read about bad service, etc etc...if youi have a coupon READ IT....if you have coarse hair or long hair they tell you right away what the difference would be and you should know that before you buy the coupon as it is stated right on it.....the staff is excellent and many thanks to IDA!!!!!! I have gone twice with a coupon and never had an issue....I am going back today paying full price for hi-lites, colour and blow dry and still cheaper than going to my regular salon....yes a bit out of the way but well worth the trip to RUFFLES...............Chiara
I have gone to Ruffles twice now and had Ernie both times. He is always more than pleasant and makes sure I get exactly what I want. The location is far and inconvenient for me but I plan on going back to Ernie because I am always so pleased with the finished product. I also witnessed first hand how rude and cheap people are and how frustrating it can be. 2 women came in that had waist length hair and demanded they colour and highlight it for no additional cost and didn't want to pay the taxes even though it was printed on the voucher that long hair and taxes were extra.
I WENT TO Ruffles Hairsalon last Thursday September 20/2012/My appointment was for 11:30am for color and haircut.For 12:30pm i had an appointment for man+ped.IWAS ON TIME but after sitting for 10min.the owner told me to wait another 20min.When i told her that i have man+ped.at12:30 she let me wait until i started manicure.So,about 1 hour waiting to start its not a good service to be,but i just said okay.At 2pm i was happy:the color and hair service was also finished and i only had to pay 13%HST for 29 dollar voucher.IN THE SALON THEY ASKED ME 18 DOLLARS,IT SHOULD BE ONLY 3.77CENTS.iREFUSED TO PAY THIS AMOUNT/I ONLY GAVE TIPS +5 DOLLAR TAX.THE OWNER TOLD ME NOT TO COME TO THE SALON EVER AGAIN.IF ANYBODY GO THERE AND YOU DONT PAY WHAT THEY ASK YOU WILL BE KICKED OUT JUST LIKE ME.BUT I WANTED TO COME BACK FOR ANOTHER man.+ped. and hairstyle, because i liked.They did a very good job.Im sad ,its not gonna happen.The owner should know its cant be her way and her busness soon will have bad reputation. I feel bad for good workers that can use their experience for other places and i would come.Hope people can learn from my sad experience.Sincerely,Raya
I just came back from Ruffles with a shocking experience. I can't remember being treated like this ever in my life. I came for my appointment and was told in an unpleasant manner that my appointment is canceled due to illness of the staff. Then I asked if I can get my money back for the voucher which I bought, the owner of the company Francesca became very irritated and rude, and made me even more unhappy. She canceled my rescheduled appointment and said that I can't come to this place at all anymore. At that time there was another hairstylist who could do my hair but he told that he is sick too. I\ve never had this kind of poor service before in my life. And trust me I am a very patient person and I understand that I bought a cheap voucher but couldn't expect such cheap service. The sad part about this story is that this is my second visit to this place. I have been there with my daughter before and we closed our eyes on many things that we didn't like but at the end I was happy with color and haircut. At that time we stayed in this place for almost 4 hours, first for my scheduled appointment the wait time was 50 min, then after coloring I went through all of the magazines in the salon and my hair became dry before the cut and styling. We didn't get pedicure and manicure this day, nobody told us about it, and we had to book another appointment. My daughter said that she didn't like this place and will not come back again. I am a more patience person, and could handle the wait time and other little things but what I faced today was too much. If you are ready to experience something like this go to Ruffles but be ready for many unpleasant surprises. I already sent my request for a refund to Dealfind and can only hope to get my money back.
I am one of that I bought a Buytopia coupon too. Actually I was debating to myself to go or not at this placed after I read some of previews reviews, thanks that I follow my god ....I was yesterday and I am very pleased and impressed by team at Ruffle Hair and Design . I would like to thanks you so much the owner IDA for her being very professional and providing a great service at her salon with a great staff. She was very kind lady offering to everyone cappuccino or bottle of water thanks god I took her advice about my hair even they cost me a few $$$$ extra because of my long hair and adding highlights , it was very worth it . Special thanks goes to ANTONIO the hair stylist , I have the best hair cut so far !!!!! I like so much my design , perfect colour and highlights. I felt like a very important woman after !!!!! I defenetly recommend this salon GREAT JOB guys !!!! and Big Thank You !!!!!
You made me to come back again !!!!
I WAS GIFTED A DEAL FIND COUPON BY MY HUBBY AT RUFFLES HAIR SALON! I WOULD LIKE TO THANK ALL THE STAFF THERE FOR MAKING MY MORNING ONE TO REMEMBER! THEY DID A GREAT JOB! MADE ME COMFORTABLE, OFFERED ME COFFEE AND IDA AND THE MAN IN THE HAT ARE SUCH LOVELY PPL! I LOVE MY HAIR STYLE AND I CANT STOP LOOKING INTO THE MIRROR! THANK YOU GUYS!!
I don't undertand all the complaints about this place! I went there today with a coupon and had great service. Everyone was friendly and polite. I was upcharged on the highlights, but I did want more services than I had paid for with the coupon.
No, I am not an employee, but really a first time customer and I will definitely going back. Thanks, Mary!
We apologize for the people that were unhappy with our services. We tried out best but unfortunately we cannot please everyone.
As for the vouchers, we are unable to pay for the taxes. Therefore it is your responsibility to take care of this. It specifies at the time that you are paying for your voucher online that we are not responsible for covering the extra taxes.
We have retained and maintained our salon for twenty five years and we have never had significant issues. We have loyal clients that have been with us for many years now and have return on a regular basis indicating how satisfied they are with our services.
Furthermore, we have a very dedicated, hardworking and experienced staff who have been in the industry for many years now.
Once again, we apologize for any misunderstandings
I was only introduced to this business through a coupon I bought. I have to say I am surprised to read these other reviews. I showed up and got my hair done the way I wanted and styled right. Gave me a great colour treatment too.
I have been a client of Ruffles Hair Salon for the last 15 years and I keep going back for the great service and warm and friendly staff. I never had any issues with them and I constantly recommend them to my friends.
Ruffles Hair Design is the best Hair Salon I have ever gone to. Clearly, the people who gave bad reviews were INCREDIBLY picky about their services and have HUMONGOUS expectations. Let's face it people, you are not royalty. The nail technician I had Leana who was very nice and very sweet. If anyone wants a good waxing job or a french manicure, she is your person to go to. She seems to work really hard and she's superfast for an older woman.
My experience was quite different from the previous reviewers. I too got the deal through a group discount site, but I was treated as a regular customer. I knew up front that I would have to pay extra for a full colour, but didn't mind because the deal was a steal anyways. My colour came out great and the owner cut my hair and did a very very very nice job. I will be going back to Ruffles.